top of page

What Inspired Girl of Puzzles?

In short, a song. Yes, you heard that right. One song inspired the entire 20,000 word novel, Girl of Puzzles. I was my favorite song at the time, and honestly, it wasn't the lyrics, but the vibe. The aesthetic is what set off the book.


I know what you're wondering--what's the song? Broken, sang by lovelytheband. More specifically, the acoustic version of it. If you're familiar with the song, then it might make sense why I use certain wording in my book. All the topics about being lonely, and loving it, that came from the song.


So now you know. Your favorite book all came from one single song. Sure, I have a playlist for the book, which you can find if you click here, but the star song of that playlist is Broken.

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Girl of Puzzles Official Notes

Every writer takes notes, even if they're not detailed, well-thought-out notes. SOmetimes their notes aren't even typed or on paper. But every writer takes notes. It doesn't matter if the medium is th

Official Spotify Playlist

Alongside taking notes, making mood boards, and then crying for hours, I also made a playlist to keep me in the writing mood...

Mood Board

Here is my Girl of Puzzles mood board that I used to keep me in the right aesthetic during the writing process.

bottom of page